It’s Great to be Me!

This has been a great week/month for my blog. I announced my book this past Monday and made some efforts to publicize my blog. This was the first time I had done so. The result was a higher “Hit Count” for the past week than I have ever had.

11-13 Blog Stats Wkly

I also – narrowly – beat my previous best month with a count of 430.

11-13 Blog Stats

To put my “Hit Count”  in perspective, though, I found a blog where one single article generated 736 “likes” How many people would have had to read it to actually respond in a favorable manner? Hell, 624 people commented on it. She has over 2,500 followers (I believe I have in the neighborhood of 20). Admittedly she writes on a more popular subject than I do – primarily “drinking wine” rather than “not drinking wine” – but she also has another advantage over me: she’s a great writer. I know nothing about her. She may have a column in the newspaper in her hometown, she may be a novelist… but I know this: she has honed her skill better than I have honed mine.735 Likes

The reason I bring her up is not to compare us. I know that it’s not a race or a contest. My point is that while she has 100 times as many followers as I do – and I cannot imagine what it would feel like to be 100 times as “successful” – I heard once that Ashton Kutcher has over a million followers on Twitter. What could that bonehead have to say, except: “I’ve seen Demi Moore naked!”

Yeah. We all have, buddy. And what the hell is Twitter, anyway?

There really is no limit to communication today.

“If you’d come today you could have reached a whole nation.
Israel in 4 B.C. had no mass communication.”
~Judas in Jesus Christ Superstar

I started my blog 3 ½ years ago. I wrote for 6 months – and then stopped for a year – before I even told anyone that I had a blog. When that woman showed some interest in it, it sparked a desire in me to start writing again. Even since then my efforts have been rather sporadic. I have made a commitment to myself to publish something – hopefully more impressive than my shopping list – every week for the next 18 months. I have learned how to schedule the release of a piece at a certain date and time. I am going to release a new piece every Wednesday morning. I even have my next 2 articles already in the can.

My intention is to have 75 pieces by summer of 2015. I’ll pick the best 50ish and see if I can put together another book.

30+ years ago I lived with a young woman who pointed out that every time you hear about an actor or a sports figure or see them on the cover of a magazine it wasn’t so much “news” as it was “the media reporting on the media”. I have done that with this column. Rather than blogging about things that affect the sick and suffering alcoholic, I have blogged about blogging. I do not intend to do this again. I just want to point out that while I don’t write for applause and I didn’t publish my book to get rich, knowing that people actually enjoy reading my output brings me much joy.

Thank you all for taking this journey with me.

jt

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to It’s Great to be Me!

  1. Congrats on that Jim! I don’t think I have ever seen numbers like that for me. I don’t imagine I ever will, but you don’t often get thousands of eyeballs on recovery posts. Seems a bit, you know, *dull* compared to more glamorous or enticing things, like drinking booze, as you mentioned. I am sure if you and I wrote about how fluffy and cute kittens were, with pics to back it up, we’d have Ashton K. numbers. Sad, but true, and that’s how it goes.

    I used to blog about blogging now and then. Still do. Like to take the temperature of the landscape now and then. I used to get caught up in the numbers game and for a while thought aloud about shutting it down. Hell, the other day I thought about it. One of those, “is this is?” kind of things? But I reckon that if I reach one person who is struggling, even if I get 5 sets of eyeballs, then it’s worth it. I started my blog because I had so much spinning in my head. I still do, but in a much calmer way, and the topics have changed a bit.

    I’d be lying if I didn’t have envy at times. I know, char defect of comparing and despairing. That’s a big one for me. but like you, it’s time to get back on the horse and just plug away. Trudge the road of happy destiny. or blogging.

    Great stuff, and congrats on your big numbers!

    Blessings,
    Paul

    • AsJimSeesIt says:

      Thanks. And you’re absolutely right. My real reason for writing is not for money or glory — there’s gotta be easier ways to achieve that — it’s to help a hopeless drunk.

      Funny thing: I really don’t know “how to write”. I just don’t know “How NOT to write”. Like you said, I get a thought stuck in my head, maybe a topic from a meeting, and it won’t let go. I find myself thinking: “I shoulda said this… and maybe that…”. It won’t leave me alone until I commit it to paper or computer and read the words.

      Then another thought gets stuck in my brain…

      Thanks!

  2. Dear J.T.,
    I am a Psychotherapist in Cinnaminson, NJ and have written two books to help children cope with and understand alcoholism. These books were written at the request of a client who wanted to explain his alcoholism to his young daughter and was having trouble finding the “right” book to do the job.
    “Daddy’s Disease” and “Mommy’s Disease” have been on the cover of the “Courier Post”, featured on NPR’s “Voices in the Family” with Dr. Dan Gottleib, and on Take 12 Radio.
    I would very much appreciate your considering reviewing my books for your blog and would be happy to send you copies of the books if you are interested. (electronically or hard copy)
    Thank you so much for your time and for the good work you do.
    Best,
    Carolyn Hannan Bell, M.S., L.P.C.
    http://www.alcoholismhurtskids.com

Leave a Reply

